Sweets for Sweet Neighbors

Since moving into our first home together (insert giant grin here), we have been inundated with snow! As first time homeowners, of course we were grossly under-equipped to deal with several feet of snow. Yes, FEET! Gah!

On January 2nd, the day after we moved in, Mother Nature decided to laugh at our shovel-less selves and drop about a foot of nasty white shit on our house. Coming from an apartment where the complex took care of snow removal, we hadΒ nothing to help us remove the snow. So I hopped in my Mini Coop and prayed I wouldn’t get stuck as I ventured out to buy some shovels. (PS- why are shovels so flipping expensive??)

About an hour and a half into shoveling, I was not even halfway down my driveway and ready to cry because my back was killing me. Ryan was about to finish it off after work when our saviors rolled up with their snow blower. A quick lesson and Ryan cleared the driveway in 20 minutes!

Since that day, we have received two more storms resulting in too much snow for my shovel and scrawny arms. Each time, our neighbors came to the rescue with their snow blower- once even clearing our driveway twice in 24 hours for us!

I feel so blessed to have such sweet neighbors who have made us feel welcome in our new home. So, I decided to bake some snickerdoodle cookies for them! Here is my recipe, adapted from a Martha Stewart recipe:

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 8 tbsp (1 stick) butter
  • 1/2 cup pure vegetable shortening
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 large eggs

For cinnamon/sugar coating use 1/4 cup sugar and cinnamon to taste- I used 1 1/2 tbsp.

To start, preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

My brand new oven ready to bake some deliciousness :)

My brand new oven getting ready to bake some deliciousness πŸ™‚

Martha calls for a standing mixer, but I don’t have one just yet. My handheld worked fine!

Oster handheld mixer came with several different attachments including a bread hook.

Oster handheld mixer came with several different attachments including a bread hook.

Add butter, vegetable shortening (I used Crisco), sugar and mix until light and fluffy. Then go ahead and mix in your eggs.

20140217-102954.jpg

Once that is all together, sift in your dry ingredients and blend into dough. If you’re like me and don’t have a sifter, use a wire strainer. Do NOT skip this step!

My version of sifting flour.

My version of sifting flour.

Blend your cinnamon and sugar, roll, and bake! Only 8-10 minutes until your delicious snickerdoodles are ready.

20140217-111602.jpg

I brought them over to our neighbors with a “Thank You” note last night and was excited to hear that theyΒ love snickerdoodles. We are so happy to be in such a wonderful neighborhood πŸ™‚

What are your favorite cookies to share?

– C

3 thoughts on “Sweets for Sweet Neighbors

Leave a Reply

