Chilled Wine and Grilled Fruit. A Beautiful Spring Weekend.

After a horrific annual review meeting on Friday, I REALLY needed a relaxing weekend. Horrific might even be the understatement of the year. I have immense respect for all of my students’ parents and feel like they absolutely know their children best, but I also won’t tolerate being belittled and called stupid, especially when I also have the child’s best interest at heart. I am proud of the way I handled the situation, yet was left feeling rattled and upset afterwards.

In order to avoid dwelling on things I can’t change, specifically the inappropriate behavior of adult women, I decided to have some wine and pack my weekend full. Ryan and I watched Orange Is the New Black on Friday night and decided to go shopping for a grill Saturday morning. He must have sensed my stress because he generously let me sleep until 10am and supervised the puppy all morning.

After bagels at our favorite local spot, the hunt began! Between Lowe’s, Sears, and Home Depot we spent about 4 hours looking at grills and lawnmowers. Yawn! Ryan and I both struggle with being indecisive/afraid to make the wrong decision, so shopping with the two of us can be exhausting. Eventually, we decided on a Char Broil Infrared grill and a Troy Bilt mower (any homeowners out there want to give their opinions on these brands?).

So we begrudgingly swiped the Visas and went to load our purchases in the car. Oh, crap! These boxes aren’t going to fit in the civic coupe. Or my Mini.

Time for Plan B.

Every piece was taken out of boxes and carefully jigsawed into the car. Meanwhile, my long-legged self contorted like a pretzel into the back seat with no way to move until the lawnmower next to me and grill top in front of me were moved. Things were feeling a little tight on the way home.

Grill was put together, chicken was marinating in the fridge, laundry in the wash. Sunday was off to a great start when I made my way to the grocery store. As I pulled back into the driveway, Mini Cooper loaded with goods, I saw Ryan mowing our front yard and it hit me.Β This is my life.Β And I mean that in a 100% positive, this-is-what-I-always-imagined kind of way, not an oh-my-gawd-how-did-things-end-up-so-shitty kind of way.

I spent the rest of the afternoon deliriously happy while chopping veggies and preparing our dinner. Enjoy these lovely pictures of the deliciousness that ensued:

20140512-172300.jpg

 

Just look at those beautiful grill marks!

20140512-172315.jpg

 

Chicken marinated in Italian dressing and grilled is beyond flavorful.

Grilled Pineapple:

  • Quarter and core pineapple
  • Slice and toss with brown sugar
  • Allow to marinate for at least an hour
  • Grill at about 350 degrees just long enough to get those pretty grill marks

Pasta Salad:

  • Tri-color rotini
  • Broccoli
  • Orange bell pepper
  • Artichoke hearts- chopped (I used canned)
  • Vidalia onion
  • Cucumber
  • Colby cheese
  • Slather in your favorite Italian dressing (I used Olive Garden’s!)

Perfect summery meal with a glass of chilled white wine πŸ™‚ What’s your ideal summer meal?

– C

One thought on “Chilled Wine and Grilled Fruit. A Beautiful Spring Weekend.

Leave a Reply

